11th December 2019


Which compartment is the true stomach of a ruminant?

The cow's digestive tract consists of the mouth, esophagus, a complex four-compartment stomach, small intestine and large intestine (figure 1). The stomach includes the rumen or paunch, reticulum or "honeycomb," the omasum or "manyplies," and the abomasum or "true stomach."

What are the four parts of the ruminant stomach?

The cow is a ruminant with four stomachs:
  • rumen;
  • reticulum;
  • omasum; and.
  • abomasum.

What are the 4 chambers of a ruminant's stomach?

Cattle have ruminant stomachs -- stomach with four separate compartments. The compartments are called the rumen, the reticulum, the omasum and the abomasum. Each compartment has its own specialized duty in the digestive process.
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!