16th June 2020


When did the Canary Islands became part of Spain?

When the Canaries were declared a province of Spain in 1821, Santa Cruz de Tenerife was made the capital. Bickering between the two main islands remained heated and Las Palmas frequently demanded that the province be split in two. The idea was briefly but unsuccessfully put into practice in the 1840s.

Correspondingly, why are the Canary Islands part of Spain?

The Canary Islands are a part of Spain largely because of a Norman explorer called Jean de Béthencourt who colonized El Hierro, Fuerteventura, and Lanzarote in the early 15th century. He founded the former capital of Fuerteventura, Betancuria, and the captured Berber-descending tribes were forced to take his surname.

Furthermore, why are Canary Islands not in EU?

The Canaries form an "Autonomous Community" within the Kingdom of Spain. As a part of Spain, the Canaries are also part of the European Union. However, the islands enjoy some exceptions in the fiscal and economic area. The currency in the Canary Islands is the euro, as in Spain.

Is Tenerife in Africa or Europe?

Santa Cruz de Tenerife was the sole capital of the Canary Islands. Politically they are part of Spain. The Canary Islands are closer to Africa than they are to Europe and so geographically they are part of the African continent.

Are the Canary Islands a tax haven?

Due to their marginal geographic location, the Canary Islands are an official, EU-recognised tax haven, with corporate tax of barely 4%. Nevertheless, this special tax rate only applies to companies established within the Canary Islands Special Zone (ZEC).
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!