What states is it legal to get a tattoo under 18?
Legal status of tattooing in the United States
|State||Minimum Age (with parent/guardian consent)||Intoxicated/Impaired Individuals|
|Georgia||18 (body piercing excepted)||no restrictions|
|Illinois||18 (body piercings excepted)||no restrictions|
Establishes that it is illegal to tattoo anyone under age 18. Body Piercing of a Minor. Requires prior written consent of a minor's parent or legal guardian to perform body piercing on anyone under age 18. Cosmetic tattooing.
- The proposal also calls for any individual under the age of 18 receiving a tattoo to be accompanied by their permanent adult guardian. Tattooing a minor older than 16 years of age, but younger than 18 years of age may not be performed unless: The minor is accompanied by his or her parent or legal guardian.
- A: No, you must be at least 18 years old to receive a tattoo in Oklahoma. Q: Can I get a body piercing if I am under the age of 18? A: Only if your parent or guardian is present for the procedure and consents, then yes, you may receive a body piercing if under the age of 18.
- Minors under 18 years of age and at least 16 years of age must have a notarized consent form signed by their parent or legal guardian. The consent form must have a description of the type of piercing to be performed on the minor. Minors under 16 years of age must be accompanied by the parent or legal guardian.
- Written consent from parent or legal guardian for body piercing, OR a parent or legal guardian must be present during the procedure. - Minors over the age of 16 may get a tattoo ONLY to cover up an existing tattoo with parent or legal guardian present, PLUS present proof of their identity to the piercer.
- If you are over 16, you are able to get your ears pierced without requiring consent from your parents or guardian. If you want to get a piercing elsewhere on your body (but not an intimate area) and you are under 18, you will need written consent from your parent or guardian which states where the piercing can be done.
- A: No, Washington state laws do not allow anyone under the age of 18 to be tattooed. Q: I'm under the age of 18, can I still get a piercing with parental consent? A: Yes, you can get a piercing under the age of 18 with a parent/legal guardian present at the time of the procedure.
- If you are under the age of 18: You CANNOT get a tattoo in Minnesota—even with the consent of your parent or guardian. You MAY get a piercing, BUT you will need parent/guardian consent AND your parent/guardian must be present during the procedure.
That law was changed in January 2012; it had previously allowed tattooing under the age of 16 so long as the minor had parental consent. Most states allow tattoos and body piercings for children under the age of majority, which is 18 years old in most of the United States, with parental consent.
- It is illegal to tattoo young people under the age of 18. You must be at least 18 years before you can have a tattoo; it is illegal for anyone to have a tattoo under 18 even with parental consent.
- Legal status of tattooing in the United States
State Minimum Age (with parent/guardian consent) Intoxicated/Impaired Individuals Delaware 18 cannot be tattooed, branded, or body pierced Florida 16 no restriction Georgia 18 (body piercing excepted) no restrictions Hawaii none specified
- Many professional artisans usually charge per hour per work. With this, one is guaranteed a good quality professional work. The cost starts at $100 to $300 per hour and depending on the size, it may augment to thousands of dollars. If one wants a custom tattoo, the price per hour can start from $50 to $300.
Updated: 21st October 2018