Corn Flakes®, Rice Krispies®, Cocoa Krispies®, Crispix® and Frosted Flakes® are wheat-free but are not labeled gluten-free because they contain malt, which comes from barley and may contain gluten.
Which General Mills cereals are gluten free?
Gluten-Free Bowlpak Cereal
- Apple Cinnamon Cheerios™ Bowlpak Cereal. Convenience.
- Cheerios™ Bowlpak Cereal 1oz. Convenience.
- Cinnamon Chex™ Bowlpak Cereal.
- Fruity Cheerios™ Bowlpak Cereal.
- Honey Nut Cheerios™ Bowlpak Cereal.
- Honey Nut Chex™ Bowlpak Cereal.
- Lucky Charms™ Bowlpak Cereal.
- Multigrain Cheerios™ Bowlpak Cereal.
Are all Cheerios gluten free?
Same Cheerios, simply gluten-free. We know that lots of different families want to enjoy Cheerios together. That's why we worked hard to remove stray wheat, rye, and barley grains from our oat supply. Now Cheerios still have the same great taste, but they're also gluten-free.
The Top Gluten-Free Cereals to Keep in Your Pantry
- Enjoy Life Crunchy Flax with Chia. from iherb.com.
- Rice Chex. from amazon.com.
- Kay's Naturals French Vanilla Protein Cereal.
- Barbara's Honey Rice Puffins.
- Organic Maple Buckwheat Flakes.
- EnviroKidz Organic Amazon Frosted Flakes Cereal.
- Mesa Sunrise Flakes.
- Paleo Coconut Flakes.
A: Because of the malt flavor that goes into the recipe, Kellogg's® Rice Krispies® cereal is not gluten free. Due to disappointing sales and manufacturing constraints, we are no longer able to make Kellogg's® Rice Krispies® Gluten Free cereal. However, we hope you'll consider trying one of our gluten free foods.
Even though corn by itself doesn't contain the type of gluten that makes us sick, most brands of corn flakes are not safe for those following the gluten-free diet. Specifically, Kellogg's Corn Flakes cereal, a perennial favorite, includes "malt flavoring" as its third ingredient.
U.S. cereal makers have been broadening their reach to gluten-free consumers in recent years. Post also makes gluten-free Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles. Post also makes Honey Bunches of Oats Granola Protein Chocolate, which contains wheat and is not gluten free.
Good news is this is a gluten free cereal Walmart may carry! No. The oats used in Captain Crunch cereals are handled in bulk with other wheat grains, making the potential for contamination high.
Some contain less added sugar than others, but most have enough sweetener to please a gluten-free kid with a sweet tooth.
- EnviroKids Organic Cereals. Inti St Clair/Blend Images/Getty Images.
- General Mills' Chex Cereals.
- Post Cocoa Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles.
- Glutino Cereals.
1) Why doesn't General Mills add Cocoa Puffs, Kix and Trix to their list of labeled gluten-free cereals? Dear Ms. Kelly: Thank you for contacting us about gluten in Kix cereal. If the ingredient declaration lists wheat, oats, barley, rye, or derivatives of these grains, then the product contains gluten.
Although wheat, rye and barley are not part of the ingredients in Cap'n Crunch there is the possibility that they could contain trace amounts of these grains. For these reasons, we don't label these products gluten free.
Wheat-free cereals include the following options:
- Oatmeal (may contain gluten)
- Rice Crispies (may contain gluten)
- Cream of Rice.
- Granola (may contain gluten)
Potato chips are made mainly with potatoes along with flavorings, and there are multiple options for gluten-free potato chips on store shelves, including:
- Cape Cod potato chips.
- Food Should Taste Good potato chips.
- Frito Lay Lays, Ruffles, and Stax (some flavors)
- Kettle Brand potato chips.
- Terra potato chips.
Are Rice Krispie Treats Gluten-Free? I'm baffled that a cereal made from rice contains gluten, but it does. Yep, Kellogg's Rice Krispies contain malt flavoring, which is derived from a barley grain. Barley is not gluten-free and therefore Kellogg's Rice Krispies are not gluten-free.
However, if you've been dreaming of Gluten Free 'Weetabix'… Nutribix is the perfect replacement and is now on UK supermarket shelves in a big way! Nutribix are the first company in the UK that has developed a Gluten-Free 'wheat-biscuit' cereal. Made with wholegrain sorghum which is 100% Wheat Free & Gluten Free.
We have eight varieties. Seven are gluten-free. Chex is also free of artificial flavors and colors from artificial sources, and high fructose corn syrup. Enjoy in a bowl, or as a delicious treat in one of our Chex Party Mix recipes.
One of the primary ingredients in Cinnamon Toast Crunch is whole grain wheat, meaning it is not gluten free. If you're looking for a similar cereal, try Cinnamon Chex, which is certified gluten free.
Special K® Gluten Free. Finally, a gluten free cereal that tastes amazing! Special K® Gluten Free are delicious crispy flakes made with the goodness of whole grain brown rice. Now everyone can experience something special at breakfast.
Gluten-Free Chips. Opt for tortilla chips that are made with corn tortillas, rather than wheat flour-based tortillas. Corn, such as blue or yellow corn, is naturally gluten-free, making it safe for you to eat. Often you can find chips, taco shells and even tostada shells made from 100 percent corn flour.
Satisfying Rice Chex™ Cereal was the first mainstream, ready-to-eat, gluten free cereal for breakfast and beyond. A few recipe favorites include Original Chex™ Mix, Honey-Sriracha Chex™ Mix and the ever-famous Muddy Buddies™.
While the number one ingredient in Cheerios is whole grain oats, which do not contain gluten, Cheerios are not currently safe for celiacs as small amounts of gluten-containing grains such as wheat, rye and barley can be introduced at farms where oats are grown, or when they are transported, creating a cross
Rum: Some dark rums may contain gluten if they are heavily spiced. The later additions of spices, after distillation, may contain gluten and some companies are not very forthcoming about their ingredients. If you're a rum drinker, Captain Morgan rums are all gluten-free.
Fruity Logic. Post cereals made headlines by declaring some of their products gluten-free. This set many in the celiac and gluten-free community abuzz, celebrating Post's “enlightenment.” Among the cereals declared gluten-free: Fruity Pebbles, Cocoa Pebbles, Marshmallow Pebbles and Fruity Pebbles Treats.