3rd December 2019


What is the RAID configuration?

RAID 10, also known as RAID 1+0, is a RAID configuration that combines disk mirroring and disk striping to protect data. It requires a minimum of four disks, and stripes data across mirrored pairs. If two disks in the same mirrored pair fail, all data will be lost because there is no parity in the striped sets.

Similarly, you may ask, is RAID 0 fault tolerant?

RAID 0: This configuration has striping, but no redundancy of data. It offers the best performance, but no fault tolerance. RAID 1: Also known as disk mirroring, this configuration consists of at least two drives that duplicate the storage of data. There is no striping.

Is RAID 5 Fault Tolerant?

RAID Fault Tolerance: RAID-6. RAID-6 is a tougher and more durable version of RAID-5. Like RAID-5, it uses XOR parity to provide fault tolerance to the tune of one missing hard drive, but RAID-6 has an extra trick up its sleeve. A RAID-6 array has even more parity data to make up for a second hard drive's failure.

Which is the best raid?

Selecting the Best RAID Level
RAID LevelRedundancyMinimum Disk Drives
RAID 5Yes3
RAID 50Yes6
RAID 6Yes4
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!