What is the equivalent to Grana Padano cheese?
Grana Padano is a traditional, co-operative, unpasteurized, hard cheese. The smooth, natural rind is extremely hard and thick. This cheese is known to many of us as simply "Parmesan" but it is a much more mild flavored and less costly cheese than Parmigiano-Reggiano.
Parmesan is a nick-name, but stems from Parmigano Reggiano: a cheese from the Parma and/or Reggio Emilia region of Italy. A similar cheese from a neighboring region is Grana Padano. They are both cooked, pressed, semi-hard cheeses made from cow's milk.
- The difference between these cheeses is that Parmigiano Reggiano cheese is the real deal, and Parmesan cheese is an imitation of the real Parmigiano Reggiano. According to the trademark laws in Italy, the cheese cannot be called “Parmigiano Reggiano” unless it's made in Italy according to a specific recipe.
- Parmigiano-Reggiano is a hard Italian Cheese made from partly skimmed, unpasteurized milk. It is only allowed to be produced in the provinces of Parma, Reggio-Emilia and Modena, as well as parts of Emilia-Romagna.
- Pecorino Romano is hard and white (as sheep's milk cheeses tend to be), with a waxy mottled black rind. Flavor: While both are salty and umami-rich, Pecorino Romano is saltier and tangy, whereas Parmigiano Reggiano is nutty and a bit milder overall.
As Grana Padano ages, the flavours become pronounced, savory and complex and the texture becomes more crumbly. Though similar to Parmigiano Reggiano Grana Padano is inexpensive because areas producing the cheese are bigger. Moreover, Grana is less crumbly, milder and less complex than its long-aged sibling.
- Traditional animal rennet is an enzyme derived from the stomachs of calves, lambs or goats before they consume anything but milk. (Ours is all from calves.) It is about 90% pure chymosin. Vegetable rennet is obtained from a type of mold (Mucur Miehei).
- If you are vegetarian, don't worry, eating mozzarella or any other cheese will not hurt your preferences. It is certainly not vegan as it is made of cow's milk. The rennet (enzymes) used to turn the milk to cheese may be vegetable or animal based, you would have to consult the company that manufactured it.
- Animal enzymes that are derived from pork (also called “porcine enzymes”) are used to develop the cheese in some of our cheese seasonings. For those in the U.S. choosing to restrict pork-related ingredients from their diets, the following list contains some Frito-Lay snacks that do not contain pork enzymes.
Grana Padano has a Natural rind that is technically edible, but too hard to eat. Some people like to throw a rind of Grana Padano or Parmigiano-Reggiano into a bowl of soup. The rind melts into the soup, adding flavor and texture. A natural rind is a rind that develops on the outside of the cheese as the wheel ages.
- All you need to do to is take your cheese out of the fridge about an hour before you plan on serving it or using it. Though it's unlikely you'll face food safety issues if you leave cheese at room temperature for too long, for best quality, you should return it to the fridge after about two hours.
- Soft cheeses such as cream cheese, cottage cheese, shredded cheeses, and goat cheese must be refrigerated for safety. As a general rule, hard cheeses such as cheddar, processed cheeses (American), and both block and grated Parmesan do not require refrigeration for safety, but they will last longer if kept refrigerated.
- In addition, harmful bacteria, such as listeria, brucella, salmonella and E. coli, can grow along with the mold. Mold generally can't penetrate far into hard and semisoft cheeses, such as cheddar, Colby, Parmesan and Swiss. So you can cut away the moldy part and eat the rest of the cheese. These molds are safe to eat.
Updated: 12th November 2019