2nd October 2019


What is the concurrent list?

The Concurrent List or List-III(Seventh Schedule) is a list of 52 items (though the last item is numbered 47) given in the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution of India.It includes the power to be considered by both the central and state government.

Subsequently, one may also ask, what is the meaning of residuary powers?

A residuary power is a power which is retained by a governmental authority after certain powers have been delegated to other authorities. There are 3 lists according to which the government distributes its powers which are: 1)Union List. 2)Concurrent List. 3)State List.

What are residual powers of government?

Residual power. The power conferred on the federal parliament by s. 91 of the Constitution Act, 1867, to make laws for the “Peace, Order, and good Government of Canada.” It is residual in relation to provincial governments as it is specifically limited to matters not assigned to the provincial legislatures.

What is residuary powers in India?

Article 248 (2) of the Constitution of India says that the Parliament has exclusive power to make any law with respect to any matter not enumerated in list II and III. Such power shall include the power of making any law imposing a tax not mentioned in either of those lists.
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!