2nd November 2019


What is the classification of a reptile?


Also asked, what is the kingdom of reptiles?


What are the categories of reptiles?

Reptiles are tetrapod animals in the class Reptilia, comprising today's turtles, crocodilians, snakes, amphisbaenians, lizards, tuatara, and their extinct relatives. The study of these traditional reptile orders, historically combined with that of modern amphibians, is called herpetology.

What are the four classes of reptiles?

These four reptile orders are as follows:
  • Crocodilia — crocodiles, gharials, caimans and alligators: 23 species.
  • Sphenodontia — tuataras from New Zealand: 2 species.
  • Squamata — lizards, snakes and amphisbaenids ("worm-lizards"): about 7,900 species.
  • Testudines — turtles and tortoises: approximately 300 species.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!