2nd October 2019


What is in the nitrogen family?

This group is also known as the nitrogen family. It consists of the elements nitrogen (N), phosphorus (P), arsenic (As), antimony (Sb), bismuth (Bi), and perhaps the chemically uncharacterized synthetic element moscovium (Mc). In modern IUPAC notation, it is called Group 15.

Why nitrogen family is known as Pnictogens?

The Nitrogen group is Group 15 of the periodic table (formerly numbered as Group V or Group VA) and is also collectively named the pnicogens or pnictogens. The word pnictogens is derived from the Greek word "pnigein", which means "to choke or stifle", which is a property of nitrogen.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!