21st September 2018


What is a fat 12?

The FAT12 is the file system on a floppy disk. The number “12” is derived from the fact that the FAT consists of 12-bit entries. The storage space on a floppy disk is divided into units called sectors. In larger storage devices, a bunch of sectors form a cluster.

Beside this, what is a File Allocation Table or FAT?

A file allocation table (FAT) is a file system developed for hard drives that originally used 12 or 16 bits for each cluster entry into the file allocation table. It is used by the operating system (OS) to manage files on hard drives and other computer systems.

What is File Allocation Table 32?

FAT32 is a version of the File Allocation Table (FAT) file system that was introduced by Microsoft in 1996 with its Windows 95 OEM Service Releases 2 (OSR2) operating system. It is an extension of Microsoft's FAT16 file system.

What is the difference between NTFS and FAT?

When people say that their disk is NTFS or FAT, it actually refers to the file system that's being used by the computer or more appropriately, the operating system. Today we'll tell you about the differences between FAT32 and NTFS file systems used by Windows operating systems.
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!