21st November 2019


What countries are not part of the United Nations?

The other two are called Observer States. They are Vatican City and Palestine. There are six other countries that are not members of the U.N. but are recognized by at least one country that is a U.N. member. These countries are Taiwan, Western Sahara, Kosovo, South Ossetia, Abkhazia and Northern Cyprus.

Subsequently, one may also ask, is North Korea a part of the United Nations?

United Nations Security Council resolution 702, adopted without a vote on 8 August 1991, after examining separately the applications of the Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea) and the Republic of Korea (South Korea) for membership in the United Nations, the Council recommended to the General Assembly

How many countries are recognized by the UN?

There are 195 countries in the world today. This total comprises 193 countries that are member states of the United Nations and 2 countries that are non-member observer states: the Holy See and the State of Palestine.

Which countries are part of the UN?

(193 nations)
CountryJoined UN 1
United Arab Emirates1971
United Kingdom1945
United States1945
Write Your Answer


66% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3.3 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!