4th November 2019


What are the two classifications of metamorphic rock?

There are two basic types of metamorphic rocks. Foliated metamorphic rocks such as gneiss, phyllite, schist, and slate have a layered or banded appearance that is produced by exposure to heat and directed pressure.

Furthermore, how do you identify a metamorphic rock?

Igneous and sedimentary rocks eroded by wind, weather and water become metamorphic rocks. Use these tips to identify metamorphic rocks. Understand that metamorphic rocks are those that have changed in some way by heat or pressure or both. Sedimentary rocks are formed from sediments and igneous rocks are formed by fire.

How can you tell if it is a metamorphic rock?

Metamorphic rocks are rocks that have become changed by intense heat or pressure while forming. One way to tell if a rock sample is metamorphic is to see if the crystals within it are arranged in bands. Examples of metamorphic rocks are marble, schist, gneiss, and slate.

How do Geologists classify metamorphic rocks?

according to the arrangement of the grains that make up the rocks. metamorphic rocks that have their grains arranged in parallel layers or ands are said to be ____________. >It describes the thin, flat layering found in most metamorphic rocks. shale into slate.
Write Your Answer


100% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

5 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!