7th December 2019


What are the three types of functional joints?

Functional classification (movement)
  • synarthrosis – permits little or no mobility. Most synarthrosis joints are fibrous joints (e.g., skull sutures).
  • amphiarthrosis – permits slight mobility.
  • synovial joint (also known as a diarthrosis) – freely movable.

People also ask, which are cartilaginous joints?

Anatomical terminology. Cartilaginous joints are connected entirely by cartilage (fibrocartilage or hyaline). Cartilaginous joints allow more movement between bones than a fibrous joint but less than the highly mobile synovial joint.

What is a secondary cartilaginous joint?

A second example is the joint between the first rib and the sternum. 2. Secondary cartilaginous joints (= symphyses) It involves both hyaline and fibrocartilage. The articular surface of each bone is covered with a thin layer of hyaline cartilage, and fibrocartilage unites these two layers.

What are the six types of synovial joints?

The six types of synovial joints are the pivot, hinge, saddle, plane, condyloid, and ball-and-socket joints. Pivot joints are found in your neck vertebrae, while hinge joints are located in your elbows, fingers, and knees.
Write Your Answer


100% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

5 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!