2nd October 2019


What are the three stop codons what is the start codon?

These codons are also known as nonsense codons or termination codons as they do not code for an amino acid. The three STOP codons have been named as amber (UAG), opal or umber (UGA) and ochre (UAA). During protein synthesis, STOP codons cause the release of the new polypeptide chain from the ribosome.

Similarly, you may ask, what are the 3 stop codons?

In the standard genetic code, there are three different stop codons:
  • in RNA: UAG ("amber") UAA ("ochre") UGA ("opal")
  • in DNA: TAG ("amber") TAA ("ochre") TGA ("opal" or "umber")

What is the start of codon?

The start codon is the first codon of a messenger RNA (mRNA) transcript translated by a ribosome. The start codon always codes for methionine in eukaryotes and a modified Met (fMet) in prokaryotes. The most common start codon is AUG. The start codon is often preceded by a 5' untranslated region (5' UTR).
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!