25th November 2019


What are the three stages of interphase?

There three stages in interphase occur in a particular order as part of the cell cycle; cells spend a majority of this cycle in interphase.
  • The Purpose of Interphase. While prokaryotic cells, like bacteria, replicate through binary fission, eukaryotic cells divide through mitosis or meiosis.
  • G1 Stage.
  • S Phase.
  • G2 Stage.

In this regard, what happens in the interphase stage of mitosis?

Interphase refers to all stages of the cell cycle other than mitosis. During interphase, cellular organelles double in number, the DNA replicates, and protein synthesis occurs. The chromosomes are not visible and the DNA appears as uncoiled chromatin.

What takes place in the g2 phase of the cell cycle?

When a cell passes the G1 checkpoint it enters the S phase of the cell cycle. During this phase DNA is replicated 3. After DNA replication, the cell leaves S phase and enters G2, when the cell prepares for mitosis or meiosis. At the G2 checkpoint, the cell checks two things.

Is cytokinesis a phase of mitosis?

Cell division in eukaryotic cells includes mitosis, in which the nucleus divides, and cytokinesis, in which the cytoplasm divides and daughter cells form. Mitosis occurs in four phases, called prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!