18th November 2019


What are the three main parts of a nucleotide?

Like DNA, RNA polymers are make up of chains of nucleotides *. These nucleotides have three parts: 1) a five carbon ribose sugar, 2) a phosphate molecule and 3) one of four nitrogenous bases: adenine, guanine, cytosine or uracil.

Keeping this in view, what is the nucleotide found in DNA?

Just as proteins consist of long chains of amino acids, DNA and RNA consists of nucleic acid chains called nucleotides. Nucleotides are composed of three units: base, sugar (monosaccharide) and phosphate. Bases are found in both DNA and RNA. As seen below, they are adenine, cytosine, guanine, thymine, and uracil.

What are the parts of DNA?

(The Double Helix) DNA is made up of six smaller molecules -- a five carbon sugar called deoxyribose, a phosphate molecule and four different nitrogenous bases (adenine, thymine, cytosine and guanine).

What are 5 nucleotides?

In DNA, there are four nucleotides: adenine, thymine, guanine, and cytosine. Uracil replaces thymine in RNA. Andrey Prokhorov / Getty Images. There are 5 nucleotides that are commonly used in biochemistry and genetics.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!