3rd December 2019


What are the three main components of a DNA molecule?

DNA has three types of chemical component: phosphate, a sugar called deoxyribose, and four nitrogenous bases—adenine, guanine, cytosine, and thymine. Two of the bases, adenine and guanine, have a double-ring structure characteristic of a type of chemical called a purine.

Just so, what are the three parts that make up the building blocks of DNA?

DNA is made of chemical building blocks called nucleotides. These building blocks are made of three parts: a phosphate group, a sugar group and one of four types of nitrogen bases. To form a strand of DNA, nucleotides are linked into chains, with the phosphate and sugar groups alternating.

What are the three basic parts or molecules that make up the building blocks of DNA?

DNA is made up of six smaller molecules -- a five carbon sugar called deoxyribose, a phosphate molecule and four different nitrogenous bases (adenine, thymine, cytosine and guanine).

Which are the components of DNA molecule?

These three components are described below. 1 – A Phosphate group is negatively charged and gives DNA molecules a negative charge. O P O O- O- R Page 2 2 2 – A nitrogen base – Four different nitrogen bases are found in DNA. They are adenine (A), cytosine (C), guanine (G) and thymine (T).
Write Your Answer


100% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

5 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!