12th November 2019


What are the names of the 4 nucleotides?

Nucleotides in DNA contain four different nitrogenous bases: Thymine, Cytosine, Adenine, or Guanine. There are two groups of bases: Pyrimidines: Cytosine and Thymine each have a single six-member ring.

Keeping this in consideration, what are the different types of nucleotides?

Types of Nitrogenous Bases in Nucleotides
  • Adenine. Adenine is a purine, which is one of two families of nitrogenous bases.
  • Cytosine. The other family of nitrogenous bases is pyrimidines.
  • Guanine. Like adenine, guanine is a purine; it has a double ring.
  • Thymine. Like cytosine, thymine is a pyrimidine and has one ring.
  • Uracil.

What are the 5 nucleotides associated with DNA and RNA?

Image of the components of DNA and RNA, including the sugar (deoxyribose or ribose), phosphate group, and nitrogenous base. Bases include the pyrimidine bases (cytosine, thymine in DNA, and uracil in RNA, one ring) and the purine bases (adenine and guanine, two rings). The phosphate group is attached to the 5' carbon.
Write Your Answer


94% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4.7 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!