4th October 2019


What are the names of the 4 nitrogen bases in DNA?

Types of Nitrogenous Bases
  • Adenine, abbreviated 'A,' has a 2-ring structure, so that makes it a purine.
  • Thymine, abbreviated 'T,' is a pyrimidine, which means it has a 1-ring structure.
  • Uracil, abbreviated 'U,' is found in RNA.
  • Guanine, abbreviated 'G,' is part of both DNA and RNA, where it bonds with cytosine.

What are the four bases that make up DNA?

DNA is made up of six smaller molecules -- a five carbon sugar called deoxyribose, a phosphate molecule and four different nitrogenous bases (adenine, thymine, cytosine and guanine).

What are the 4 types of nitrogen bases in RNA?

b. a nitrogenous base (def). There are four nitrogenous bases found in RNA: adenine, guanine, cytosine, or uracil. Adenine and guanine are known as purine (def) bases while cytosine and uracil are known as pyrimidine bases (def) (see Fig. 3).
Write Your Answer


100% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

5 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!