16th October 2019


What are the names of the 15 tectonic plates?

  • African.
  • Indo-Australian Plate.
  • Antarctic.
  • Eurasian.
  • North American.
  • Pacific.
  • South American.

Consequently, what are the 7 major and minor plates?

You mention the Nazca plate as not being particularly “minor”, and indeed there is an intermediate grouping, normally said to comprise the Arabian Plate, Caribbean Plate, Cocos Plate, Juan de Fuca Plate, Nazca Plate, Philippine Sea Plate, and the Scotia Plate. This is easy to remember because they also number seven!

What are the 7 major crustal plates of the Earth?

Naming the tectonic plates. Scientists have named the largest plates for the continents and oceans they contain. The seven largest plates are the North American Plate, Eurasian Plate, African Plate, Antarctic Plate, South American Plate, Indo-Australian Plate and the Pacific Plate.

What are the names of the tectonic plates?

These seven plates make up most of the seven continents and the Pacific Ocean.
  • African Plate.
  • Antarctic Plate.
  • Eurasian Plate.
  • Indo-Australian Plate.
  • North American Plate.
  • Pacific Plate.
  • South American Plate.
Write Your Answer


66% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3.3 / 5 based on 4 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!