12th November 2019


What are the muscles of the posterior leg?

The posterior compartment of the leg contains seven muscles, organised into two layers – superficial and deep. The two layers are separated by a band of fascia. Collectively, the muscles in this area plantarflex and invert the foot. They are innervated by the tibial nerve, a terminal branch of the sciatic nerve.

Herein, what are the muscles of the anterior thigh?

There are three major muscles in the anterior thigh – the pectineus, sartorius and quadriceps femoris. In addition to these, the end of the iliopsoas muscle passes into the anterior compartment.

Which muscle is part of the anterior compartment of the thigh?

The anterior compartment contains the sartorius muscle (the longest muscle in the body) and the quadriceps femoris group, which consists of the rectus femoris muscle and the three vasti muscles – the vastus lateralis, vastus intermedius, and the vastus medialis.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!