26th November 2019


What are the main steps in the nitrogen cycle?

This process is called the Nitrogen Cycle. Step 1- Nitrogen Fixation- Special bacteria convert the nitrogen gas (N2 ) to ammonia (NH3) which the plants can use. Step 2- Nitrification- Nitrification is the process which converts the ammonia into nitrite ions which the plants can take in as nutrients.

Keeping this in view, what are the three stages of the nitrogen cycle?

Overview: The nitrogen cycle involves three major steps: nitrogen fixation, nitrification, and denitrification. It is a cycle within the biosphere which involves the atmosphere, hydrosphere, and lithosphere.

What are the four main processes of the nitrogen cycle?

The conversion of nitrogen can be carried out through both biological and physical processes. Important processes in the nitrogen cycle include fixation, ammonification, nitrification, and denitrification. The majority of Earth's atmosphere (78%) is nitrogen, making it the largest source of nitrogen.

What are the important parts of the nitrogen cycle?

Processes in the Nitrogen Cycle
  • Fixation - Fixation is the first step in the process of making nitrogen usable by plants.
  • Nitrification - This is the process by which ammonium gets changed into nitrates by bacteria.
  • Assimilation - This is how plants get nitrogen.
  • Ammonification - This is part of the decaying process.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!