7th December 2019


What are the four types of cast iron?

There are four basic types of cast iron - white iron, gray iron, ductile iron and malleable iron
  • white iron.
  • gray iron.
  • ductile iron.
  • malleable iron.

Likewise, what color is cast iron?

The alloy constituents affect its colour when fractured: white cast iron has carbide impurities which allow cracks to pass straight through, grey cast iron has graphite flakes which deflect a passing crack and initiate countless new cracks as the material breaks, and ductile cast iron has spherical graphite "nodules"

What are the properties of cast iron?

Composition, properties and uses of ferrous metals
Name and melting pointProperties and characteristics
Cast iron 1200°CHard skin, softer underneath, but brittle, corrodes by rusting
Mild steel 1600°CTough, ductile, malleable, good tensile strength, poor resistance to corrosion

What is the use of cast iron skillet?

One reason folks are so fond of their old cast-iron skillets is the patina—known as “seasoning”—that builds up in the pan with use. As oil seeps into the surface of the pan, it eliminates any microscopic roughness on the metal that can cause food to cling, creating a virtually nonstick surface.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!