16th October 2019


What are the four main types of clouds?

On Earth, there are four main types of clouds:
  • cumulus clouds.
  • stratus clouds.
  • cirrus clouds.
  • nimbus clouds.

What type of cloud is a snow cloud?

Nimbostratus clouds are grey, thick, low-level clouds that cover the entire sky. These kinds of clouds are associated with prolonged weather, mainly rain or snow. Seen here: Fun fact : The root word for nimbus, 'nimbo', is Latin for rain or precipitation and the root word for stratus, 'strato', is Latin for layer.
Write Your Answer


94% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4.7 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!