21st October 2019


What are the four levels of measurement?

Data Levels of Measurement. A variable has one of four different levels of measurement: Nominal, Ordinal, Interval, or Ratio. (Interval and Ratio levels of measurement are sometimes called Continuous or Scale).

Just so, what is an example of a ratio level of measurement?

Numbers can be grouped into 4 types or levels: nominal, ordinal, interval, and ratio. Nominal is the most simple, and ratio the most sophisticated. Each level possesses the characteristics of the preceding level, plus an additional quality. Nominal is hardly measurement.

What are the levels of measurement for which data can be qualitative?

They are nominal, ordinal, interval, and ratio. Data at the nominal level of measurement are qualitative. No mathematical computations can be carried out. Data at the ordinal level of measurement are quantitative or qualitative.

What is interval data?

The interval between values is not interpretable in an ordinal measure. In interval measurement the distance between attributes does have meaning. For example, when we measure temperature (in Fahrenheit), the distance from 30-40 is same as distance from 70-80. The interval between values is interpretable.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!