21st October 2019


What are the five functions of skeleton?

The skeletal system performs vital functions — support, movement, protection, blood cell production, calcium storage and endocrine regulation — that enable us to survive.

Similarly one may ask, what are the 5 main functions of a skeleton?

These are:
  • Protection - the cranium and ribs protect the brain and vital organs in the chest.
  • Shape - gives shape to the body and makes you tall or short.
  • Support - holds your vital organs in place when playing sport.
  • Movement - muscle are attached to bones, which are jointed.

What are the six main functions of the skeletal system?

The skeletal system is the body system composed of bones and cartilage and performs the following critical functions for the human body:
  • supports the body.
  • facilitates movement.
  • protects internal organs.
  • produces blood cells.
  • stores and releases minerals and fat.

What is the role of the skeleton?

The skeleton also protects the internal organs, for example, the rib cage protects the heart and lungs, whilst the skull protects the delicate brain. The skeleton is also important in permitting movement in different parts of the body. Bones provide anchoring points for muscles, against which they are able to pull.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!