2nd October 2019


What are the duties of the commissioner of the town?

In a county commission form of government, a body of elected commissioners serves both the executive and the legislative duties, meaning they enact local ordinances and administer them. They approve budgets, oversee spending and hire county employees. The commission usually consists of three to five officials.

Just so, what is a commission system of government?

…are administered by an elected commission, usually consisting of three, five, or seven commissioners. Each commissioner serves as the head of one or more departments. In most cities, however, the commission system has given way to the council–manager system.

What is a government commission?

Commission government is a form of municipal government that vests all legislative and executive authority in a small board of commissioners. Elected at large, each commissioner is responsible for the administration of one branch of municipal business, such as public safety, public works, and finance.

How does the commission form of government work?

COMMISSION FORM OF CITY GOVERNMENT. Under the commission plan voters elect a small governing commission, typically five or seven members, on an at-large basis. As a group the commissioners constitute the legislative body of the city responsible for taxation, appropriations, ordinances, and other general functions.
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!