2nd October 2019


What are the 3 major components of a reflex arc?

Sensory cells carry afferent impulses to a central interneuron, which makes contact with a motor neuron. The motor neuron carries efferent impulses to the effector, which produces the response. Three types of neurons are involved in this reflex arc, but a two-neuron arc,…

Keeping this in consideration, what is the reflex arc and how does it work?

A motor neuron carries the message from the central nervous system to the effector. In a knee-jerk reflex arc the sensory neuron directly connects to the motor neuron in the spinal cord. This is called a simple reflex arc. from the spindle (receptor) to where it connects with the motor neuron in the spinal cord.

What are the five components of a reflex arc?

  • Receptor - sense organ in skin, muscle, or other organ.
  • Sensory neuron - carries impulse towards CNS.
  • Interneuron - carries impulse within CNS.
  • Motor neuron - carries impulse away from CNS.
  • Effector - structure by which animal responds (muscle, gland, etc).

What is the Monosynaptic reflex arc?

When a reflex arc consists of only two neurons, one sensory neuron, and one motor neuron, it is defined as monosynaptic. Monosynaptic refers to the presence of a single chemical synapse.
Write Your Answer


100% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

5 / 5 based on 1 vote.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!