28th November 2019


What are Sudras in the caste system?

Caste System: Vaishyas, Sudras, and Untouchables. The Hindu Caste system is based of lineage and occupation. It is divided into 4 distinct categories: Brahmins, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas, and Sudras. There are also the Untouchables whom are considered the “caste-less”.

In respect to this, what were the Shudras?

Unlike the members of the three dvija (“twice-born”) varnas—Brahmans (priests and teachers), Kshatriya (nobles and warriors), and Vaishya (merchants)—Shudras are not permitted to perform the upanayana, the initiatory rite into the study of the Vedas (earliest sacred literature of India).

Are the untouchables Sudras?

Though Shudras were beneath the other varnas and supposed to serve them, they were not untouchable and could enter temples and so on. On the other hand, Dalits are the fifth varna - that is, people who are outside the chaturvarna system.

What do the shudras eat?

The Brahmans and the Vaisias have Sattvic diet which includes fruits, milk, honey, roots and vegetables. Most of the meats are considered to have Tamasic qualities. Many Sudra communities eat different kinds of meat (but not beef) and other Tamasic food.
Write Your Answer


60% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

3 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!