Is vodka made out of rotten potatoes?
While vodka can be distilled from potatoes — as with the Swedish Karlsson's Gold Vodka — it can also be produced from pretty much anything. (The French Ciroc is grape-based, and there's even a brand made from milk.) But most vodka in this country is made from corn, wheat or other grains.
Smirnoff vodka. Smirnoff is distilled from corn, and the company's plain vodka should be safe, even if you're sensitive to gluten-grain-based alcohol. Smirnoff also is offering "Smirnoff Sourced" flavored vodka, which contains 10% fruit juice from concentrate and is labeled "gluten-free."
- Smirnoff is usually 80 proof = 40% alcohol content. 1 proof = .5%. Smirnoff makes a lot of flavored Vodka, the Raspberry one being my favorite. They're easy to drink if you're new to drinking, and there's no need for chasers.
- "Smirnoff Ice has not been officially certified to be a vegan product (meaning that it has not been tested and gone through the certification process as of yet). The Smirnoff products that have been tested and certified to be vegan are Smirnoff Vodka (blue, black & red).
- List of vodkas
Brand Country Base Kors Vodka Finland Grain Ström Finland Grain and potatoes Cîroc France Grapes Dragon Bleu France Wheat, barley, rye
Updated: 18th November 2019