The new soda tax would be on top of the 8% sales tax that already applies to soda in Pennsylvania. Soda is classified as food, which is tax exempt in some states, but not in Pennsylvania. The measure is expected to be signed by Philadelphia Mayor Jim Kenney. Kenney originally proposed a 3-cents-per-ounce soda tax.
What products are not taxable?
These foods and beverages, however, are not exempt from tax:
- candy and confectionary;
- alcoholic beverages;
- soft drinks, fruit drinks, sodas, or similar beverages;
- heated or prepared meals (sandwiches, salad bars, etc.); and.
- food or beverage sold for on-premises consumption.
Purchases above $110 are subject to a 4.5% NYC Sales Tax and a 4% NY State Sales Tax. The City Sales Tax rate is 4.5%, NY State Sales and Use Tax is 4% and the Metropolitan Commuter Transportation District surcharge of 0.375% for a total Sales and Use Tax of 8.875 percent.
State sales taxes apply to purchases made in Maryland while the use tax refers to the tax on goods purchased out of state. Businesses in Maryland are required to collect Maryland's 6 percent sales tax and or 9 percent alcoholic beverage tax from you whenever you make a taxable purchase.
New Jersey zip codes are within the range of 07000-08999. Sales Tax is to be charged at the rate of 6% prior to July 15, 2006. Sales Tax is to be charged at the rate of 7% on July 15, 2006 and till January 1, 2017. Sales Tax is to be charged at the rate of 6.875% on January 1, 2017.
The Ohio (OH) state sales tax rate is currently 5.75%. Depending on local municipalities, the total tax rate can be as high as 8%. Other, local-level tax rates in the state of Ohio are quite complex compared against local-level tax rates in other states.
The purchase of food for eventual resale in your restaurant is a tax-exempt purchase. Your supplier should not charge you sales tax on food used exclusively for resale. Sales taxes will only be due when you eventually sell food to patrons at your restaurant.
Food, if purchased for consumption off the premises where sold, is not subject to Ohio sales tax. However, if the water product contains natural or artificial sweeteners, it is a “soft drink” under R.C. 5739.01(EEE)(2)(c) and is taxable.
If the listing states that the buyer pays the sales tax, then you will have to pay for it. However in most cases the seller usually pays the sales tax on a house. In today's market anything is possible. The tax is usually calculated based on the purchase price.
Common sense tells us that the seller should pay the taxes from the beginning of the real estate tax year until the date of closing. The buyer should pay the real estate taxes due after closing. This way, the buyer and seller only pay the real estate taxes that accrued during the time they actually owned the property.
The law applies to sales after May 6, 1997. To claim the whole exclusion, you must have owned and lived in your home as your principal residence an aggregate of at least two of the five years before the sale (this is called the ownership and use test). You can claim the exclusion once every two years.
4. 1031 exchange. If you sell rental or investment property, you can avoid capital gains and depreciation recapture taxes by rolling the proceeds of your sale into a similar type of investment within 180 days. This like-kind exchange is called a 1031 exchange after the relevant section of the tax code.
It is true in most cases. When you sell your home, the capital gains on the sale are exempt from capital gains tax. Based on the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997, if you are single, you will pay no capital gains tax on the first $250,000 you make when you sell your home. Married couples enjoy a $500,000 exemption.
If you owned and lived in the place for two of the five years before the sale, then up to $250,000 of profit is tax-free. If you are married and file a joint return, the tax-free amount doubles to $500,000. The law lets you "exclude" this much otherwise taxable profit from your taxable income.
When you sell your primary residence, you can make up to $250,000 in profit if you're a single owner, twice that if you're married, and not owe any capital gains taxes. “Most people are not going to have a tax obligation unless their gain is huge,” says Robert Trinz, senior analyst with Thomson Reuters Checkpoint.
When you sell a personal residence, closing costs, such as attorney and realtor fees, are not tax deductible. Just as when you are a purchaser, most closing costs are not tax write-offs. On the plus side, you may add these expenses to the cost basis of your home, which minimizes any capital gains tax requirements.
Taxpayers in the 10 and 15 percent tax brackets pay no tax on long-term gains on most assets; taxpayers in the 25-, 28-, 33-, or 35- percent income tax brackets face a 15 percent rate on long-term capital gains. For those in the top 39.6 percent bracket for ordinary income, the rate is 20 percent.
The federal income tax is progressive, meaning that tax rates increase as your taxable income goes up. For example in 2017, income was taxed at seven rates: 10 percent, 15 percent, 25 percent, 28 percent, 33 percent, 35 percent and 39.6 percent.
Capital gain is a rise in the value of a capital asset (investment or real estate) that gives it a higher worth than the purchase price. The gain is not realized until the asset is sold. A capital gain may be short-term (one year or less) or long-term (more than one year) and must be claimed on income taxes.