28th November 2019


Is the blues scale major or minor?

Hexatonic. The hexatonic, or six-note, blues scale consists of the minor pentatonic scale plus the 𘁇th degree. A major feature of the blues scale is the use of blue notes; however, since blue notes are considered alternative inflections, a blues scale may be considered to not fit the traditional definition of a scale.

What are the notes of the minor pentatonic scale?

The Minor Pentatonic Scale is constructed of five notes (hence the prefix penta-), and is constructed using the formula: 1 b3 4 5 b7, which means the Minor Pentatonic uses the 1st, flatted 3rd, 4th, 5th ,and flatted 7th note of the Major Scale. So in E minor Pentatonic you would have the notes E, G, A, B, and D.
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!