7th December 2019


Is New York a compact state for nursing license?

There are currently 29 nurse compact states in the NLC. In addition, there are a several pending compact nursing states, including New York, Illinois, Massachusetts and New Jersey.

Similarly, it is asked, what does compact state mean for nursing?

NURSING LICENSURE COMPACT. The Nursing Licensure Compact (NLC) allows nurses to have one license to practice in multiple states. There are currently 34 states which have enacted NLC legislation, meaning they recognize the multi-state license or have such legislation pending.

Is WY a compact state?

Wyoming is not a member of the nurse license compact, but has stated that it may become so in the future when criminal background checks are enacted in all states. Currently, a nurse needs a Wyoming license to practice in Wyoming.

What is the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact?

Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) Implementation. The Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC) increases access to care while maintaining public protection at the state level. Under the eNLC, nurses are able to provide care to patients in other eNLC states, without having to obtain additional licenses.
Write Your Answer


94% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4.7 / 5 based on 3 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!