How old do you have to be able to drive a jet ski?
Those 14 and 15 years of age may operate a PWC legally only if they have obtained a boating safety certificate and … He or she is accompanied on board by his or her parent or legal guardian or by a person at least 21 years of age who has been designated by the parent or legal guardian or …
In California, you do not need a license to operate a boat. However, some states do require boaters to be licensed or to have taken a boating safety course. Therefore, it is important for boaters to check with the boating law administrator's office in the state you plan to boat in.
- All PFDs must be in good and serviceable condition and must be readily accessible. California law requires children under the age of 13 to wear a U.S. Coast Guard-approved PFD while underway in a recreational vehicle of any length (unless tethered to a sailboat or in an enclosed cabin).
- The Boater Education Card is proof that you have successfully completed all of the components of an approved Boating safety course and allows you to go boating. Because the Boating education card or certificate does not expire and does not need to be renewed, it is not called the Oregon Boating License.
- Avoid fuel spills when fueling in or near the water. Do not tip the PWC in order to fill it all the way up. The tank is designed to leave space for the fuel to expand. If the tank is overfilled, the fuel may expand and spill into the water.
You do need a license to operate a jet ski in Australia. The kind of ticket or license you need will depend on the state you reside in. In WA, a Recreational Skipper's Ticket (RST) is required to operate a jet ski. Fines may apply if you don't obtain the correct license.
- Massachusetts requires a Boater Education Card for boaters, and not a boating license. If you are between 12 and 15, you must have your Boater Education Card onboard to operate a motorboat without supervision. You must be at least 16 to operate a personal vessel.
- A PWC driving licence includes a general boat licence. A PWC licence holder is able to operate a vessel with a fully enclosed hull that may be driven standing up, lying down, sitting astride or kneeling, and includes jet powered surfboards.
- You must be 16 years of age to actually rent Jetskis in Ocean City, “BUT” you must have a parent or guardian sign for you if you are under the age of 18. All operators must present a valid photo ID with birthdate, and must complete a Boater Safety course (see next FAQ).
Do I need a boating license or boating safety certificate to operate a boat or personal watercraft (PWC) in Florida? Anyone under the age of 22 (21 and under) is required to have a boating safety education ID card along with a photo ID while operating a vessel with 10 horsepower or greater in Florida waters.
- According to the latest reports, operator inattention is the number one cause of boating accidents, followed by improper lookout, operator inexperience, excessive speed, and alcohol. Alcohol is the leading contributing cause to fatal accidents.
- Directing this jet of water steers the vessel. Personal watercraft are the most common type of vessels that use a jet drive. Jet drives also may power larger vessels (jet boats) and are used commonly for vessels designed for shallow water conditions. Jet boats can have inboard or outboard jet drives.
- Two hands are illegal. The Endangered Species Act forbids touching a manatee unless it touches you first, and they will let you know.” The rules are strict in Homosassa, and the protection of this endangered species is taken very seriously. There is absolutely no chasing, riding or harassing the manatees.
Updated: 28th October 2019