How many Republicans and Democrats are in the Senate?

The U.S. Senate has 51 Republicans and 49 Democrats (including two independents).

Is the House of Representatives Democrat or Republican?

The 2014 elections gave the Republicans control of the Senate (and control of both houses of Congress) for the first time since the 109th Congress. With 248 seats in the House of Representatives and 54 seats in the Senate, this Congress began with the largest Republican majority since the 71st Congress of 1929–1931.
  • What is the Republican House?

    The House Republican Conference is the party caucus for Republicans in the United States House of Representatives. It hosts meetings and is the primary forum for communicating the party's message to members.
  • Who is the majority leader of the House of Representatives?

    The current party leaders are: Majority (Republican) Leader Kevin McCarthy, Majority (Republican) Whip Steve Scalise, Minority (Democratic) Leader Nancy Pelosi, and Minority (Democratic) Whip Steny Hoyer.
  • Who was the last speaker of the House?

    Pelosi remained Speaker through the 111th Congress. For the 112th Congress, Republican John Boehner was unanimously designated Speaker-designate by House Republicans and was elected the 53rd Speaker of the House.

How many members of Congress are Democrats?

House of Representatives: 248 Republicans (including one Delegate), 192 Democrats (including 4 Delegates and the Resident Commissioner) and one vacancy. Senate: 54 Republicans, 44 Democrats, and 2 Independents who caucus with the Democrats.

What happens in the case of a vacancy in the House?

When vacancies happen in the Representation from any State, the Executive Authority thereof shall issue Writs of Election to fill such Vacancies.” House vacancies can be caused by death, resignation, declination, withdrawal, or House action, but the Constitution requires that they be filled by election.
  • Who sets the salaries of congressmen and who pays them?

    The Senators and Representatives shall receive a Compensation for their Services, to be ascertained by Law, and paid out of the Treasury of the United States.” This means that Congress is responsible for adopting legislation, which must be signed by the President to become law, that determines its salary.
  • What places have non voting members?

    Current non-voting members of the U.S. House of Representatives
    District of Columbia at-largeDelegateEleanor Holmes Norton
    Guam at-largeDelegateMadeleine Bordallo
    Northern Mariana Islands at-largeDelegateGregorio Sablan
    Puerto Rico at-largeResident CommissionerJenniffer González
  • Who impeaches the president?

    The number of federal officials impeached by the House of Representatives includes two presidents: Andrew Johnson and Bill Clinton; both were later acquitted by the Senate.

Updated: 26th November 2019

Rate This Answer

4.2 / 5 based on 9 votes.