2nd October 2019


How many joints do you have in your back?

The human body consists of about 24 articulating (or the joint) vertebrae that comprise these three sections. However, in reality, it consists of 33 vertebrae where the other five are fused to form the sacrum. Broadly, the three main sections of the spine include: cervical spine, thoracic spine and the lumbar spine.

In this regard, what is the name of the 26 vertebrae?

The spine, also known as the vertebral column or spinal column, is a column of 26 bones in an adult body — 24 separate vertebrae interspaced with cartilage, and then additionally the sacrum and coccyx.

What are the three different types of vertebrae?

Different Types of Vertebrae
  • Cervical Vertebrae (vertebrae of the neck)--7.
  • Thoracic Vertebrae (vertebrae of the upper back)--12.
  • Lumbar Vertebrae (vertebrae of the lower back)--5.
  • Sacrum (one bone formed from 5 sacral vertebrae that are fused together)
  • Coccyx (formed from three, four, or five small or incomplete vertebrae fused together)

Where is t2 in the back?

The thoracic spinal vertebrae consist of 12 total vertebrae and are located between the cervical vertebrae (which begin at the base of the skull) and the lumbar spinal vertebrae. The second thoracic vertebra, or T2, is located directly below the first thoracic vertebra (T1).
Write Your Answer


80% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4 / 5 based on 2 votes.


Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!