Do they make lactose free cheese?
Cheese with trace levels (less than 0.5 gram lactose) Natural, aged cheese (such as Cheddar, Parmesan and Swiss) can be digested by many people with lactose intolerance. During the cheese making process, most of the lactose is drained off with the whey (a liquid portion).
With a lactose-free milk, that is not ultra-pasteurized, you will be able to make our 30 Minute Mozzarella and Ricotta. However, you will not be able to make other cheeses. The process of cheese making is based on the bacterial cultures converting the lactose in milk to lactic acid.
- Some dairy foods are easier to digest than others, including yogurt and aged cheese. Lactose-intolerant people vary in how much lactose they can tolerate, but dairy and aged cheese are easier to digest because processing has already broken down some of the lactose.
- What can you eat if you're lactose intolerant?
- Yogurt. Most people with lactose intolerance can eat yogurt.
- Aged cheeses.
- Lactase-fortified dairy products.
- Low-fat dairy products in small amounts.
- Dairy products eaten with a lactase pill.
- No Lactose: You may eat or drink these lactose free sweets and desserts any time.
- Angel food cake.
- Dairy-free frozen desserts made with rice or soy.
- Frozen pureed fruit bars.
- Fruit ices & sorbets.
- Gelatin desserts without milk or whipped cream.
- Honey, sugar, syrups, molasses, & powdered sweeteners.
- Jellies, jams, preserves.
Updated: 18th November 2019