If a player fails to hit the 8-ball while shooting at it, it is a foul and the game continues. When the 8-ball is the legal object ball, a scratch or foul is not a loss of game if the 8-ball is not pocketed or jumped off the table. Incoming player has cue ball in hand. 4.
Just so, do you have to hit your own ball first in Pool?
The first ball that you hit must be one of your own color, or the black if you have no balls left on the table. If you fail in doing this, it's a fault (SCRATCH). The punishment is the following: Your opponent has the right to move the white ball where he wants before playing. He will have an easy shot.
Can you put the cue ball anywhere after a scratch?
A scratch, foul, or illegal shot results in ball-in-hand, where your opponent can place the cue ball anywhere on the table in preparation for the next shot. The only exception to this is the break (see the 8-ball and 9-ball differences that follow).
How many shots do you get on the black ball in pool?
The "two shot" rule is only used in the chiefly British game of black ball, played with 7 yellow balls, 7 reds, a black ball, and a cue ball. It's played similar to American 8 ball, but this one of the rules that often gets confused between the games.