Can you get drunk off of vinegar?
Vinegar is the result of the conversion of alcohol into acetic acid. There is no amount of acetic acid that will make one drunk, though too much can kill. Incomplete fermentation could lead to a mixture of alcohol and vinegar, which could potentially lead to drunkenness, but that mixture is not vinegar.
Vinegar is 5-8% acetic acid in water. The alcohol that forms in the process of making it is negligible. There are traces of alcohol in vinegar but a very small amount. Wine vinegars such as red or white wine and balsamic vinegar do start with a dilute wine which is then fermented.
- Whether or not a white wine vinegar is vegan then, would depend on if the wine used to make the vinegar was vegan in the first place. how can wine not be "vegan" it's made from grapes?" it's because eggs and other animal parts are sometimes used in the process of making wine.
- Acids in food such as vinegar (acetic acid), soda water (carbonic acid) and lemon juice (citric acid) are weak acids. Some acids can lose more than one proton. For example, carbonic acid can lose two protons, while citric and phosphoric acids can lose three. Bases, called alkalis if an OH- is involved, accept protons.
- Distilled White Vinegar. Heinz® Distilled White Vinegar is made from sun-ripened grain and crystal clear water. With a clean, crisp flavor, it's ideal for your favorite marinades, salads, and recipes.
Updated: 25th September 2018