Can you be allergic to soya?
People with a soy allergy should not consume soy milk, soy yogurt or ice cream, edamame, miso, tempeh and tofu. Most individuals allergic to soy can safely consume highly refined soybean oil. Soybeans also are unrelated to tree nuts such as almonds, walnuts and cashews.
Avoid foods that contain soy or any of these ingredients:
- Cold-pressed, expelled or extruded soy oil*
- Soy (soy albumin, soy cheese, soy fiber, soy flour, soy grits, soy ice cream, soy milk, soy nuts, soy sprouts, soy yogurt)
- Soybean (curd, granules)
- Soybeans are legumes. Other foods in the legume family include peanut, navy beans, kidney beans, lima beans, string beans, pinto beans, chickpeas (garbanzo beans), lentils, peas, black-eyed peas, and licorice. Some people with soy allergy may have a reaction after eating other legumes.
- The following is a list of foods containing soy.
- Edamame. These soybeans are harvested when the beans are still green and sweet tasting.
- Meat Alternatives.
- Soy Nuts.
- Soy Sauce (Tamari, Shoyu and Teriyaki)
- Textured Soy Protein.
- Potato chips or popcorn cooked in soy oil (Note: Most soy oil does not contain soy protein, which causes soy allergy, because the soy protein is removed during processing. Thus, soy oil generally does not cause allergy symptoms.
Updated: 21st October 2019