3rd December 2019

qcbaseball
13

Can an infield fly rule be called on a foul ball?

So let's say a pop up is hit down the third base line. The umpire makes his call and then the ball drifts into foul territory. Whether the ball is caught or not, the infield fly rule no longer applies. So, if the ball is dropped by the third baseman in foul territory, it's simply a foul ball and the batter is still up.

Similarly, you may ask, what happens if you drop an infield fly rule?

As soon as that happens, the batter is out, even if the ball falls to the ground. With the batter out, the force play is removed on all of the other runners on base. If the ball is caught, the batter is still out, and runners have to tag up. So this chaos is really caused when that ball drops to the ground.

Can you run on an infield fly?

Similarly, a fly ball within the infield that could have been caught by an infielder with ordinary effort, but is caught by an outfielder, would also be covered by the rule. On a caught infield fly, the runners must tag up (retouch their base at the time of pitch) in order to be eligible to advance, as on any catch.

What is no infield fly rule?

An Infield Fly is a fair fly ball (not a line drive or bunt) that, in the judgment of the umpire, can be caught by an infielder, pitcher, or catcher with ordinary effort and when there are runners on first and second or first, second, and third and less than two outs.
Write Your Answer

Rate

86% people found this answer useful, click to cast your vote.

4.3 / 5 based on 3 votes.

Bookmark

Press Ctrl + D to add this site to your favorites!

Share